The penultimate picture of the donated yarn pyramid.

As we rest in the tranquil Amsterdam airport, I have to resist the temptation from the photo ops presented to me by my fellow travellers enjoying the lovely lounge chairs (seriously, they’re amazing).

I would like to give a shout out to all of my friends who donated hooks, books, and yarn to help me teach crochet to orphans in Moshi, Tanzania.  Allison, Amy, Celeste, Christina, Dee, Dreux, Joan, Main Street Yarns and Fibers, and Trisha–asanteni sana!  I can’t wait to spread the crochet love!

I had the naive hope of travelling with a modest amount of luggage.  Then I saw this extra-large space bag and realized I’d need to bust out the giant blue duffel that almost swallowed my brother-in-law when he took me to the airport to leave for the Peace Corps.  I raise my hook up high and salute those of you who helped me to fill my bag!

10 pounds of love

Vacuum-packed!

